top of page
Old Franklin County Jail


Sheriff Donelan

Sheriff Chris Donelan
Franklin County Sheriff’s Office
160 Elm Street
Greenfield, MA 01301
(413) 774-4014



Sheriff Chris Donelan is currently serving his third term as Franklin County Sheriff. During his tenure, he has remade the Sheriff’s Office from a place where the mission was containment of offenders to what today resembles a locked treatment facility.

Using evidence-based treatment, including mindfulness and DBT, to being one of the first Houses of Correction in the country to offer Medication Assisted Treatment (MAT), Sheriff Donelan’s leadership has made the Franklin County House of Correction a national model for addiction and mental health treatment.

Sheriff Donelan began his career as a police officer, serving ten years in uniform before leaving police work to become a probation officer. In the Probation Service, he did his first work treating justice involved men with addiction and mental health problems. He worked in the Drug Court and eventually became Probation Officer in Charge of the Franklin County Community Correction Center.

In 2002, he was elected to the Massachusetts House of Representatives. He served four terms in The House with assignments which included time on the Mental Health and Substance Abuse Committee, Ways and Means Committee, Higher Education Committee and Public Safety Committee.

Christopher Donelan was sworn in as Sheriff of Franklin County by Lieutenant Governor Timothy Murray on January 5, 2011.

Sheriff Donelan received his Bachelor’s Degree in Criminal Justice from Westfield State College and his Masters of Public Administration Degree from American International College. He has three grown children and makes his home with his wife, Maureen, in Greenfield, MA.

John Nevers

1811, 1831 - 1846

Elihu Lyman, Jr.

1811 - 1814

Epaphras Hoyt

1814 - 1831

Samuel H. Reed

1847 - 1851

1853 - 1855

1856 - 1868

James S. Whitney

1851 - 1853

Charles Pomeroy

1855 - 1856

Solomon G. Wells

1868 – 1877

George A. Kimball

1877 - 1893

Isaac Chenery

1893 - 1910

William M. Smead

1910 - 1911

Edson J. Pratt

1911 - 1917

James B. Bridges

1917 - 1931

Fred W. Doane

1931 - 1939

Michael A. Carroll

1939 - 1961

Thomas Geary

1961 - 1969

Chester Martin

1969 - 1976

Donald McQuade

1977 - 1993

Frederick B. Macdonald

1993 - 2011

Christopher J. Donelan



The High Sheriff's of Franklin County

bottom of page